Kenneth Young work a SOUNZ Award finalist

Subscribe to our RSS feeds

Thumbnail image.

Released: 15 Aug 2012
Filed under: Competitions | Composition | Staff

A work by NZSM composition and conducting lecturer Kenneth Young is one of three finalists for New Zealand's most prestigious prize for composition.

Four Questions, No Answers for chamber ensemble and soprano was chosen as a finalist for the 2012 SOUNZ Contemporary Award. A four movement work for oboe, clarinet, horn, violin, soprano, guitar and piano, it was dedicated to, and first performed by, the Southern Cross Soloists from Queensland, Australia.

Kenneth has been teaching at the School of Music since 1988.

The other two finalists this year are Michael Williams for his opera The Juniper Passion and Alex Taylor for his 'mini viola concerto' [inner].

The SOUNZ Contemporary Award, established in 1998, is a project of the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) and SOUNZ, The Centre for New Zealand Music. The award consists of a $3,000 cash prize and a trophy presented as part of the annual APRA Silver Scroll Awards ceremony which also includes the Maioha award for contemporary Māori music. The winners will be announced this year on Thursday 13 September and will be live-streamed by the New Zealand Herald.

Te Kōkī, New Zealand School of Music (and Victoria University's School of Music before 2006) has a strong association with the SOUNZ Contemporary Awards, with many past and current staff, alumni and Composers in Residence being selected as finalists and winners over the last 15 years. These include:

  • Chris Gendall: 2008, 2010, 2011
  • Dylan Lardelli: 2006
  • Gillian Whitehead: 1999, 2001, 2003
  • Helen Bowater: 1999
  • Jack Body: 2009
  • Jeroen Speak: 2005
  • John Psathas: 2002, 2004
  • Kenneth Young:2005, 2012
  • Lyell Cresswell: 2000,
  • Michael Norris: 2004, 2009
  • Philip Brownlee: 2001
  • Ross Harris: 2000, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010

Search for News

Follow Us

Vimeo Flickr